Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities Announces New Board Chair, Vice-Chair and Trustees

News Date: 2/25/2020

Adelphi University President Christine Riordan Takes Helm of the CICU Board of Trustees.

ALBANY – The Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU) today elected a new chairperson, Dr. Christine M. Riordan, president of Adelphi University, a new vice-chair, Dr. Margaret L. Drugovich, president of Hartwick College and seven new members to its Board of Trustees. Dr. Riordan, who previously served as vice-chair of the CICU Board of Trustees, succeeds Father Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham University. Dr. Riordan’s two-year tenure begins immediately.

“It is a privilege to have been selected by my peers to serve as the next chair of CICU’s Board of Trustees,” said President Riordan. “I’m proud to continue the important work of CICU to advance quality higher education and to champion the vital contributions that New York’s independent colleges and universities make to our entire state. I’m looking forward to the inspiring work ahead and want to thank Father McShane for his leadership and years of service to the organization.”

Dr. Riordan was appointed president of Adelphi University in 2015. Prior, she served as provost of the University of Kentucky and as dean of the Daniels College of Business at the University of Denver. Dr. Riordan also serves as the secretary-treasurer of the Long Island Regional Advisory Council on Higher Education (LIRACHE) and on the board of directors for the Long Island Association (LIA), a leading business organization on Long Island. She received her Ph.D. in organizational behavior and MBA from Georgia State University and a bachelor’s degree in textile engineering (now called materials science and engineering) from the Georgia Institute of Technology.
Also joining the CICU Board of Trustees are seven new trustees:

•    Seamus Carey, Ph.D., president of Iona College
•    Lorrie Clemo, Ph.D., president of D’Youville College
•    Anthony Collins, Ph.D., president of Clarkson University
•    David Harris, Ph.D., president of Union College
•    Brendan O’Donnell, Ph.D., president of Manhattan College
•    Joanne Passaro, Ph.D., president of Metropolitan College of New York
•    Laura Sparks, J.D., president of The Cooper Union

“Dr. Riordan, Dr. Drugovich and our seven newly appointed trustees will be powerful additions to CICU’s leadership team and Board of Trustees. With the guidance and leadership of our board, CICU continues to advocate for public policies that promote affordable and accessible higher education and student choice. Each of these higher education leaders who have joined our board brings a unique perspective to this important work and we are grateful for their service,” said Mary Beth Labate, President of CICU. “I want to thank Father McShane for his unwavering leadership and commitment to private, not-for-profit higher education. It has been a privilege working alongside of him.”

“It has been a high honor to serve as chair of the CICU Board of Trustees” said Father McShane. “Our institutions are critically important to attracting and retaining young people to New York, and I know that we will continue to make great progress under the leadership of Dr. Riordan.”

About The Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities in New York
Founded in 1956, The Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU) in New York represents the chief executives of New York's 100+ independent (private, not-for-profit) colleges and universities on issues of public policy. Member colleges compose the largest private sector of higher education in the world and confer 50% of bachelor’s degrees, 73% of master’s degrees, and 79% of doctoral and first-professional degrees earned in New York state.