CICU Announces 2015-16 Board of Trustees Members and Committee Chairs

News Date: 4/27/2015

Albany, NY - At its April 23, 2015 meeting in New York City, the Board of Trustees of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU) elected the members of its 2015-16 executive committee and welcomed members elected at its Annual Meeting in March. The chairs and members of the Board’s standing committees also were announced. CICU’s Board of Trustees represents executive-level participation from colleges and universities in every region of New York State and highlights the diversity of institution type and size within New York State's Independent Sector of higher education.

2015-16 Board of Trustees Executive Committee Members:  

Chair: Todd S. Hutton, president, Utica College
Vice-Chair: Kimberly R. Cline, president, Long Island University
Secretary: Margaret Carney, St. Bonaventure University*
Treasurer: William W. Destler, Rochester Institute of Technology*  

Stephen Ainlay, president, Union College
Drew Bogner, president, Molloy College
Charles L. Flynn Jr., president, College of Mount Saint Vincent
Mark D. Gearan, president, Hobart & William Smith Colleges
Edward Guiliano, president, New York Institute of Technology 
Judith A. Huntington, president, The College of New Rochelle
Gary Olson, Daemen College*

Ex Officio: Laura L. Anglin, president, CICU  

Jamshed Bharucha, The Cooper Union*
Diane Ciccone, Public Trustee; CGB Secretary
John Ebersole, Excelsior College*
William L. Fox, St. Lawrence University*
Stephen J. Friedman, Pace University*
John J. Hurley, Canisius College*
Arthur J. Kremer, Public Trustee; CGB Vice Chair
Karen Lawrence, Sarah Lawrence College
Joseph E. Nyre, Iona College
Wendy Robinson, Helene Fuld College of Nursing*
Jon Strauss, Manhattanville College*
G. Robert Witmer, Jr., Public Trustee; CGB Chair

Chairs of the Standing Committees:  
Legislative Committee:  Drew Bogner, Molloy College
Joseph E. Nyre, Iona College
Regulatory Committee: Edward Guiliano, New York Institute of Technology
Communications Committee: Charles L. Flynn, Jr., College of Mount St. Vincent
Finance & Administrative Committee: William W. Destler, Rochester Institute of Technology 
Audit Committee: Stephen Ainlay, Union College
Nominating Committee: Drew Bogner, Molloy College  
CICU’s mission is to develop consensus among its 100+ member campuses and to advance higher education public policy at the state and federal levels. It is the formal organizational liaison with the New York State Board of Regents, the state’s Commissioner of Education, the chancellors of the State University (SUNY) and City University (CUNY); and with the proprietary sector.
Note: CICU Board member biographies are online: 
(*) - Asterisk denotes new members to the Board of Trustees.

Terri Standish-Kuon, 518-436-4781,
Jamie Tario, 518-436-4781,