CICU Announces 2011-12 Board of Trustees Members and Committee Chairs

News Date: 4/26/2011

Terri Standish-Kuon, 518-436-4781
Jennifer Miller, 518-436-4781,

Albany, NY - At its April 21, 2011 Board of Trustees Meeting in New York City, the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU) elected the members of its 2011-12 executive committee and welcomed members elected at its Annual Meeting last month. The chairs and members of the Board's standing committees were also announced. CICU's Board of Trustees represents executive-level participation from colleges and universities in every region of New York State and highlights the diversity of institution type and size within New York State's Independent Sector of higher education.

2011-12 Executive Committee Members:

Chair: Anthony G. Collins, Clarkson University; 
Vice-Chair: Joseph M. McShane, S.J., Fordham University; 
Treasurer: Elizabeth A. Hill, C.S.J., St. Joseph's College; and 
Secretary: Joan Hinde Stewart, Hamilton College.

Committee Chairs: 
Legislative: Drew Bogner, Molloy College;
Regulatory: Todd S. Hutton, Utica College;
Communications: Kimberly R. Cline, Mercy College; 
Finance & Administrative: Elizabeth A. Hill, C.S.J., St. Joseph's College; 
Audit: Laura Schweitzer, Union Graduate College; and
Nominating: Elizabeth A. Hill, C.S.J., St. Joseph's College.

At-Large Executive Committee Members:
Robert A. Scott, Adelphi University; 
David J. Skorton, Cornell University;
John E. Sexton, New York University; and
William W. Destler, Rochester Institute of Technology.

Newly Elected Members of the Board of Trustees: 
Charles L. Flynn Jr., College of Mount Saint Vincent;
David J. Skorton, Cornell University;
Cynthia Zane, Hilbert College;
Thomas Rochon, Ithaca College;
Brennan O'Donnell, Manhattan College;
Kevin Mackin, Mount Saint Mary College;
Susan Scrimshaw, The Sage Colleges; and
Laura Schweitzer, Union Graduate College.

Current Trustees not mentioned above include the following college presidents and institutional trustees:

Gene Bernstein, Trustee, Alfred University; 
Margaret L. Drugovich, Hartwick College; 
Margaret (Peggy) Wines, Helene Fuld College of Nursing;
Aniello Bianco, Chairman of the Board, Pace University; 
Stephen J. Friedman, Pace University; 
Brendan J. Dugan, St. Francis College; 
Karen Lawrence, Sarah Lawrence College; 
Kevin J. Mullen, O.F.M., Siena College; 
Paul B. Hurley, Trocaire College; and
G. Robert Witmer, Jr., Trustee, University of Rochester.

CICU's mission is to develop consensus among its 100+ members and to advance higher education public policy at the state and federal level. It is the formal organizational liaison with the New York State Board of Regents, the State Commissioner of Education, and the chancellors of the State University (SUNY) and City University (CUNY); and with the proprietary sector.

Note: CICU Board member biographies are online: